Awards Dinner 2014: The Winners!

Publish Date: 30th September 2014

Image: Awards Dinner 2014: The Winners!

The winners of the 2014 National Resilience Awards were announced on Wednesday 24th September at a ceremony in the Hilton Metropole, Birmingham.

100 resilience professionals gathered in The Terrace for the awards ceremony followed by dinner and entertainment in The Pavillion.

The judging panel would like to extend a thank you to all individuals, teams and companies who submitted their respective nominees. The submissions were of an excellent standard! So for those of you unable to attend the event, here are the 2014 winners:

Resilience Team of the Year
Sponsored by Babcock International

WINNER: London Fire Brigade Emergency Planning Team

This award was presented to the resilience team whom the judging panel feel has best exemplified effective resilience management underpinned by the notions of team work, development, partnership working and communication. The judging panel looked at the specific innovative achievements of the team during the last 12 months.

London Fire Brigade Emergency Planning Team (LFB EP) has delivered a highly professional and innovative multi-level strategic training and exercising programme for London Local Authorities. The success of this programme accurately demonstrates the qualities, professionalism, one-team approach and a commitment to excellence.

Emergency Planning Initiative Of The Year
Lincolnshire County Council EP Team
Sponsored By The Emergency Planning College

WINNER: Lincolnshire County Council Schools “Safe Haven” Project

(Hayley Harrison and Cliff Robins from Lincolnshire County Council with Beverley Griffiths from The EPC)

The award for the Emergency Planning Initiative of the Year is presented to an organisation or individual who has found the most exceptional way to promote emergency planning to both the profession and to a wider audience, looking to move emergency planning forward within an organisation, across the private and public sector and to the wider community.

As part of Lincolnshire’s evacuation planning, schools across the county were asked if they would be willing to host evacuation centres. The Safe Haven Project provides schools with a range of teaching materials on emergency awareness and resilience that enables students to produce a rest centre plan for their school.

Voluntary Sector Award
Sponsored by Getac UK
WINNER: Somerset Emergency Voluntary Agencies Group

This award is presented to the voluntary individual or team who the judging panel believe has made a significant contribution to the resilience profession in the last 12 months.

Somerset Emergency Voluntary Agencies Group were nominated for the response work carried out by this dedicated team of Voluntary Agencies during the 82 day coastal and inland flooding emergency that hit Somerset earlier this year. They provided the backbone to Somerset’s response and were ready to assist with requests from multi-agency responding organisations, in extremely challenging circumstances.

Most Innovative Product Of The YearResilience Direct winning the Innovative Product Of The Year 2014
WINNER: Resilience Direct

This award is aimed at a company that can demonstrate their product is the most innovative, as well as having a practical emergency planning application. The product needed to have come onto the market since July 2012 and should have a practical application to be able to support an organisation in its emergency planning function.

Resilience Direct is helping emergency responders and planners to work in partnership to make the UK a safer place. Facilitation and real-time information-sharing across organisational and geographical boundaries, ability to link SCGs through the command structure to COBR. Live mapping, instant notification and secure document repository enhances the interoperability of this system which works across any device.

Best Newcomer Of The Year
WINNER: Owen Griffiths – Welsh Branch

This award is presented to a new society member that has brought a fresh outlook and vision for the Society. This individual has been recognised by their peers as having outstanding qualities within resilience management and has shown the potential to become an industry leader within the profession.

Owen, whilst still a student, supported Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council in the delivery of a live COMAH Exercise at the Royal Mint. He also helped with the delivery of a large live multi agency flooding based exercise involving opening a Silver, 4 Bronzes, a Rest Centre, evacuation of a school, business continuity at a Council Depot and a Recovery Working Group.

Owen has helped Rhondda Cynon Taf with an ELT at a large music event and also with a fun run. He has supported charity events, a fact we first come to know about when he let slip that he was walking up Snowden dressed as Batman. He is also leading the development of an annual branch charity.

His personality and commitment to the profession led to him being a member of the Branch Committee (in the role of Practitioner Representative) within a very short time of joining the Society. He has brought a different perspective to debates and is very willing to offer opinions and ideas and to pitch in to get work done.

Chairs Award For Member Of The YearLouise Cadle accepting Member of the Year award
WINNER: Louise Cadle

This award is presented to a member of the Society who has significantly contributed to the society by taking a forward thinking and innovative approach to continuous improvement.

During the last few years the Society has been going through turbulent times with major changes in the Board, financial difficulties and dropping membership. Throughout this time Louise has taken a consistent approach to supporting the Society, working tirelessly to ensure its continuance and more recently working hard to support the National Operational Committee.

Louise has held several roles of responsibility – Southern Branch Chair and more recently has taken on the role of interim Chair of the National Operational Committee.

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Ron Woodham & Joe Walton

Both Ron and Joe have been judged to have demonstrated outstanding and continued achievements in the resilience profession over a significant career.

They are held in high regard throughout the profession and have worked tirelessly to promote the emergency planning/resilience agenda.